DIY – Not just about Pinterest

Blackbird

Confession:  I am a DIY Pinterest fan!  Huge DIY Pinterest fan.  I have over 318 “pins” just waiting to be created so when I read the title of our required reading this week, I was intrigued: Lankshear and Knobel (2008) Ch.1: DIY Media: A Contextual Background and Some Contemporary Themes.  DIY in media?  What is this?  My first thoughts were Youtube videos, Photoshop, Garageband, iMovie Maker.  You can use all of these resources to create your own DIY movies, music etc.  And this was correct, but this chapter focused more on the “why” of DIY media.

Two main points towards the end of the reading were the “push” and “pull” of resources.  Basically, a push model has everything provided for you.  It has been well thought out and programmed.  A pull model is created by many working together to create a needed resource.  A pull model is collaborative.  A pull model is learning while doing.  You have a challenge or a problem put before you and you must work together to come up with a solution.  I liked the description by lan.chen in Hypothesis:

The shift from “push” to “pull” is like the transition from “teacher-centered” to “student-centered”. – Sara Cheng

This is my passion:  Student-centered learning.  When students create and solve problems, they remember!  When they are required to solve a problem, but not necessarily given the “how” to solve a problem, they find a solution.  And if they are collaborating with others, they come up with a variety of solutions – creative solutions!
And here is my struggle:  Motivating students to find a passion and begin to create, to explore, and to learn.  This way of learning takes time.  For example, I am enjoying our ds106 daily creates and projects.  I have to take time for them now because it is required for this class.  I am learning about many resources, growing in my abilities, and exploring and learning with others through this process.  I hope that when this class is over, I will continue to challenge myself and do some of the ds106 projects.  But even as an adult learner, it is going to take diligence and self-motivation to get that done.  I want my students to take the passions that they are introduced to in “class” and continue to explore outside of class; for some this will happen.  For others, it is extremely hard to motivate them even in class.
Hopefully, this student-centered learning will inspire them and teach them “how” to learn and motivate them to pursue their passions.
Leave a Reply

