Magic Is Your Imagination – Digital Story Critique 4

Magic is your imagination

For my Digital Storytelling Critique #4, I watched and read a piece that has both inspired and lifted a huge burden from my shoulders!  As you may know, the theme for my semester in Digital Storytelling at UCD is Exploring Your Backyard with Your Children.  My goal has been to find activities to do as a family that are inexpensive and close to home.  I have found a number of things to do and have been collecting them and going on several of the excursions.  We have had a great time riding bikes in the mountains, hiking gorgeous places just 20 minutes away, and exploring some history of the buildings downtown. As I was trying to think of another  digital story “activity” to use for my weekly critique, I typed into the google tool bar, having fun with kids without spending too much money.  The very first video that popped up caught my attention: I’m Done Making My Kids Childhood Magical by Bunmi Laditan.  This video is actually an interview with Bunmi by Huffington Post.  Her blog post caught the Post’s attention when it received over 203K hits!  What could she possibly have to say that would get the attention and shares of so many people?

Allow your child to be bored,

Teach kids to be creative,

Let them play make-believe,

Give children the time to find their own fun

Drum roll please ….

It is not a parents responsibility to create memories for their children!

Really?  Okay, I admit, this is how I try to approach my children’s childhood.  They are not allowed to say the “b” word or they are given some not so fun suggestions of what they could be doing:)  And, they are creative kids.  Awesome imaginations – although, video games are overtaking some of those “get out in the yard and come up with something to do” moments.  I still struggle with the guilt of not having the opportunity to go somewhere exotic (or at least somewhere with sand) this summer and feel like I need to keep up with the other parents by taking trips to Elitches, Water World, Jumpstreet, etc. Facebook and Pinterest have really affected the way we parent.  As stated in the video, we feel the need to post pictures about the wonderful times we are creating with our children. This interview with Bunmi helped me realize that if I don’t make it to all of those “magical” places, my children will not suffer and struggle as an adult because of it!  They might actually have better memories of just hanging out with us, being creative , and playing!

 I used the appendix from Lankshear and Knobel’s Ch 4 New Literacies and Social Practices of Digital Remixing to critique this story.

What types of “involvement” – and by the author/creator(s), participant(s), and/or audience – are apparent in this story?

The woman interviewing had read through the blog, researched, and asked good leading questions to the author of the blog, Bunmi Laditan.  The interview gave me further insight to what was written in the blog.

How would you characterize the “literacy dimensions” present in this story?  

This story is basically and interview.  There are no additional pictures to enhance the story – basically, it is two women talking.  I don’t think they needed to add more than that, the point got across.

What are the online spaces and sites that bring this story to life? Why do these spaces and sites matter to the impact of the given story?

This story was brought to life because it was based off of a blog post.  The attention that the blog post generated and the comments to the blog make this a “living” document for continued communication.  The video created more inquiry into the blog post and furthered the communication.

Based upon your assessment of involvement and literacy dimensions, what modifications and changes to this digital story might improve aspects of narrative, production, media usage, and/or audience engagement?

I enjoyed the video.  I thought the questions asked were relevant but not redundant.  It was engaging as a parent and spoke honestly about the nature of a parents concerns and worries.  The interview lead me to the blog and I got even more insight from it.  I actually started a public annotation with Hypothesis on the blog.  Feel free to check it out and make comments with me!

Leave a Reply

